Blog Comments…Again

On March 17th, 2011 Super Bowl Ad by: Stacia\’s PR Blog

I agree that this commercial was slightly inappropriate; however, it didn’t completely cross my  convictions. The Super Bowl is primarily targeted toward adults–hence all the beer and car  commercials–therefore, I thought that this commercial targeted their audience well. Doritos,  along with many other companies, does well with the variety of their target audience. This  commercial did appeal to the homosexual community, but as Hollywood is today (and society in  general) it’s not uncommon to have homosexual references in a lot of the media. I would not go out on a limb and say that I’m completely in favor of this new wave of media, but it’s a wave nonetheless and PR is all about riding it.

On March 17th, 2011 EGYPT – Total Chaos by: CressPress

Everything that has been happening in Egypt has definitely been a calamity. What is more of a tragedy,  however, is that our attention shifts from tragedy to tragedy. In this instance, which almost seems like  ancient history even though it has only been a month ago, Americans were being put in danger. I don’t  know if that was the primary news of this post, but I think that there are many more pressing matters than  just our own citizens’ possibility of threats. This post was short and informative; however, I think that  people would benefit from hearing the tragedy as it relates globally rather than simply greedy Americans.

On March 17th, 2011 Arizona teacher fired over a bumper sticker? by: Laurie Lea

At first when I read this post, I was skeptical about the entire thing–really 61 bumper stickers  on an adult’s car, and she got fired over them? So obviously I wanted proof to know what the  stickers said. Tip to the wise blogger: pictures are useful. Like any modern person would do, I  googled it. Sure enough, there pictured on my screen a blue Toyota Prius with 61 stickers plastered in every available spot. Laurie offered a couple examples in her post, but the most controversial sticker was “Have you drugged your kid today?” Along with many other questionable stickers, my skepticism and siding with the teacher turned into understanding toward the parents and school’s decision. Yes, we have free speech, but there is a time and a place for everything. The work place, like Laurie Lea says, is not the place to voice your personal opinions…unless asked.

On March 17th, 2011 Spring Break and College Students by: Elijah Gil

Per the survey that was taken by Elijah, I think anyone would have to take into consideration the ages of the people being interviewed. When I was a freshman and sophomore (and even into my junior year) in college, I wanted to go home to see my family and my friends as well. Even though I had just been home over Christmas break, and even though I would be going home for the summer, I still wanted that break in between the second semester for some home rejuvenation. However, for my senior year I would have regretted it for my lifetime had I not seized the opportunity to take a vacation for spring break with my friends. Now having been through all four spring breaks of my college career, my senior year spring break has been the most memorable out of all of them simply because I went on a vacation and made memories with my lifetime friends.

On March 17th, 2011 Googoo for Gaga by: Tara Schwartz

It’s hard to believe that Lady Gaga has only been in the main stream music business for four years. The amount of media coverage and publicity that she has received far exceeds some of those who have been in the business for close to their entire lives. With this being said, I definitely agree that she was a good choice for SkyGrid to have test out their new product. With the amount of traffic that she gets on the internet, I would imagine that she would be able to tell within hours if she, and the rest of the world, would be willing to invest in this new product. It’s almost ridiculous what people can get famous for these days, but what seems even more ridiculous is the rapid growth of technology and social media. Good luck to GaGa!

About lindsayyshort
i enjoy music. i hate clutter. i like to work out. im moved by nature. im inspired by people. i adore my family. i love life.

Leave a Reply

